100th anniversary of the foundation of Yerevan State University

The postage stamp depicts the central building of Yerevan State University as well as the monument of “Sahak Partev and Mesrop Mashtots” situated in front of it. The postage stamp is fully designed in the graphic style. The logo dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the foundation of Yerevan State University is at the bottom right corner of the postage stamp.

Yerevan University was founded by the decision of the Council of Ministers of the first Republic of Armenia adopted on May 16th, 1919. The solemn opening ceremony of the University was on January 31st, 1920 in Alexandrapol (now Gyumri). The university was moved to Yerevan in 1920. Up to now Yerevan State University has had around 130 thousand graduates and currently around 16.200 students study at Yerevan State University 19 faculties, 4 institutes and the Ijevan Branch.

Date of issue: June 27, 2019

Artist and designer: Levon Lachikyan

Printing house: Cartor, France

Size: 40,0 x 30,0 mm

Stamps per sheet: 10 pcs

Print run: 30 000 pcs

$ 0.66